Best of 2014 – not really

2014

I was planning on writing a best of 2014 post this week to highlight the good, the bad and the ugly that the year had. I started to draft a paragraph or two, then I deleted it and switched over to a best of everything kind of list, like a Best Movies of 2014, Best Songs of 2014, you can take it from there. I really was prepared to give you reviews and insights so that you can officially close out your year and gear up for 2015.

What I realized after plenty of time thinking, pondering and hypothesizing is that I think that I may be pretty boring. Yes, I could tell you the Best Beers of 2014 (Marley’s Peanut Butter Ale) or the Best TV Shows (Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, The Leftovers) but I don’t think I even saw a movie in the theaters in 2014 (does Mr. Peabody count?), or heard an original band this year (I will say the band Television on the Radio released a pretty good album). And I can’t tell you the trendiest restaurants in NYC or best books to read.

Yeah, the “About Me” section on the About page of Squirrels Hate Me kind of sums it up with lyrics by Rockwell.

“I’m just an average man
with an average life
I work from nine to five,
hey, hell, I pay the price
All I want is to be left alone
in my average home
But why do I always feel like
I’m in the twilight zone”
– Rockwell, “Somebody’s Watching Me”

This is not a bad thing. Actually, I think it’s the best thing. It frees me up to do the things I enjoy most, spending time with family, acting odd, traveling, watching the Cubs lose and enjoying a good beer or two, with a mustard shot chaser.

So if you want a true Best of 2014 list, I suggest visiting People.com or something. But I think I had a pretty damn good year. Actually it was the Best 2014 it could be.

2015 here we come!!!!

2015

Leave a Reply

